Yes, you CAN take the motorcycle M1 test on a scooter – if the scooter you’re talking about is a “moped” scooter/Vespa that looks like a small motorcycle that you sit on. I called the California DMV and confirmed it.
Do you need a motorcycle license for a 49cc scooter in California?
In California, you don’t need a motorcycle-specific license or DMV registration for scooters and motorized bikes. Riding mopeds, on the other hand, requires both valid registration and an M1 or M2 license. Operating a moped on California roads also requires liability insurance.
Do I need to pass a test to ride a scooter?
First, you have to complete your CBT. You then have to pass the Motorcycle Theory Test and undertake training and a Practical Test on a machine up to 50cc. The advantages over just passing a CBT course alone, are that you can ride any Moped (up to 50cc) without L-plates and you may carry a pillion passenger.
Is riding a scooter the same as a motorcycle?
What’s the difference between scooters and motorcycles? When it comes to scooters vs motorcycles, motorcycles are usually harder to learn to ride but have larger engines and top speeds, while scooters are more fuel efficient, cheaper and have better maneuverability.
What are the restrictions on a motorcycle permit in California?
All learner’s permit applicants must pass a vision exam, skills test and a knowledge test that covers information found in the California Motorcycle Handbook. Applicants under the age of 21 must also pass a California Motorcyclist Safety Program training course administered by the California Highway Patrol.
How many cc can u go without a license?
If a motor scooter’s capacity is less than 50 cubic centimeters piston displacement, the vehicle does not have to be titled or registered. A Class M Motorcycle license is not required but the operator must have a valid driver license of any class of vehicle. A moped operator’s permit is also valid.
Do you need a helmet to ride a scooter in California?
Current Helmet Law
The new law signed into effect by Governor Jerry Brown, California AB 2989, which was signed into law last year, and went into effect January 1st, 2019, states that individuals under the age of 18 must wear a helmet on all motorized vehicles, including electric scooters of any type.
Can I go straight to an A2 license?
Age 19 or over. Unless you already have an A1 licence you need the CBT, theory test and the two-part practical test, which will give you an A2 licence. … If you already have an A1 licence and are 19 years old or more, you can take the practical test and upgrade to an A2 licence.
How fast is 125cc?
Both 125cc scooters and motorbikes max out at 60mph, which is double the top speed of a 50cc. This makes them a much more suitable choice if you plan to do longer journeys, or are travelling on A roads. Whereas a 50cc makes a good choice for city riding, 125cc scooters are better for suburban/country riding.
How fast is 50cc in mph?
What’s the top speed of a 50cc moped? Most 50cc scooters come with a restricted engine, which limits the bike to a top speed of 30mph (48kph). However, a 50cc scooter can go at speeds of up to 60mph (96kph), while most will comfortably reach 40mph (65kph).
Should I buy scooter or motorcycle?
Scooters are ideal for quick short rides. Their structure and machinery is best suited for shorter distances. Ease of maneuverability, quick acceleration and lightweight make them suitable for everyone. Bikes on the other hand are generally meant for longer distances.
Is a scooter more comfortable than a motorcycle?
Riding a gearless scooter is more comfortable than a motorcycle.
Which is safer scooter or motorcycle?
New research has shown that in the realm of two-wheeled motorists, moped riders are involved in more accidents, motorcyclists are more than three times as likely to die on the road, and scooter riders are the safest of the three.
What happens if you get pulled over without a motorcycle license in California?
For instance, driving a motorcycle in California without a motorcycle license could result in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. While some states have more lax penalties for unlicensed drivers, ultimately it’s never a good idea to drive any vehicle without the appropriate license.
How long does it take to get a motorcycle license in California?
Take California driver education class (same as for driving a car) Have motorcycle permit for six months. Take motorcycle rider training course. Between 18–21.
Do you need a motorcycle license to ride a trike in California?
The trike does require a helmet, but it does NOT require a motorcycle license. You can legally operate the Trike on any road/highway in California with a Class C license.